Home
Home Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Review Updates

The Eye (2008)

DVD Cover (Lions Gate)
Sign up to rate this movie.
4.0
 / 10
5 votes
Movie Connections:
The Eye
> The Eye (2002)
> The Eye 2 (2004)
> The Eye 3 (2005)
> Naina (2005)
> The Eye (2008)
Genres:
Horror, Psychological Thriller, Supernatural Horror
Directors:
David Moreau David Moreau
Xavier Palud Xavier Palud
Starring:
Jessica Alba Jessica Alba
Alessandro Nivola Alessandro Nivola
Parker Posey Parker Posey
Rade Serbedzija Rade Serbedzija
Fernanda Romero Fernanda Romero
Sponsored Links
Avatar
Review by bluemeanie
Added: May 29, 2008
This is the kind of film that makes me want to stop critiquing films.

Based on the superior Japanese original, "The Eye" is about a young woman (Jessica Alba) who receives an eye transplant, which then allows her to see into the world of the supernatural. So, the first half of the film is finding out who this young woman is, what she does (she's a violinist) and how she will be healed. The second half is all about her frightening visions and the journey to discover whose eyes she has been given. Sound captivating? If so, you need to be strapped to a table and tortured for hours and hours with a soldering iron.

When I tell you "The Eye" is one of the most worthless films in recent memory, please know that is the absolute understatement of the year. I thought "One Missed Call" was bad. And what makes this worse is that there is some strong talent in this film, actors like Parker Posey and Alessandro Nivola. But, they are given nothing with which to work. Parker Posey is out of her genre element here, and Alessandro Nivola (though gorgeous) seems like he's rather be anywhere than this picture, and that includes another "Jurassic Park" sequel.

The most frightening thing about the film is Jessica Alba. She has got to be one of the worst actresses to ever land a lead in a big budget motion picture, and she keeps on getting cast, over and over again, despite her films making less money than an "Operation Dumbo Drop" midnight screening. She has no range, no charisma and the only thing that keeps people interested are the two 'eyes' on her chest. People keep casting her in these roles that are way too old for her and way too mature for someone of her caliber to handle. Remember that horrible little remake from a few years ago called "Dark Water"? It starred Jennifer Connelly. "The Eye" would have worked so much better with Jennifer Connelly in the lead. At least Connelly would have made it believable.

This will easily go down as one of the worst films of 2008, and is easily one of the worst remakes of a Japanese film ever brought to the silver screen. I know I joked earlier about "The Eye" being worse than "One Missed Call". All right -- it wasn't that bad. But, it was close. So, if you enjoy ninety minutes or more of Jessica Alba with that same damned vacant expression as always, then "The Eye" is right up your alley. If you have even the slightest amount of respect for the horror genre, you will stay the hell away from this catastrophe. It might sound like I am being too harsh. In that case, watch the film. See for yourself. Someone gouge my 'eyes' out.

0/10.
Sponsored Links
Recommended Movies
The Eye Naina The Eye 3 The Eye 2 Riding The Bullet The Eye Of Menw The Open Door Crazy Eights
Greg Follender #1: Greg Follender - added 05/29/2008, 10:52 PM
Howdy Meanie...

I know that you're thrilled to see me here... but I just had to let you know that the original film was of Thai origin, not Japanese.

It was the clever brainchild of the Pang brothers, the twins Danny and Oxide (yup.. that's the bloke's real name) Pang.
The original production was filmed in both Singapore and Hong Kong, but was mostly produced by a Thai crew including esteemed cinematographer Decha Seementa.

You must have simply seen a Japanese disc issue of the film and mistook it for a Japanese production.
No biggie, of course... but you are such a stickler for detail in your reviews, I just figured that you'd like to be completely accurate.

Great review, by the way... I share your sentiments exactly on the remake!
Greg Follender #2: Greg Follender - added 05/29/2008, 11:32 PM
Hmmm... I just discovered that the Pangs were born in Hong Kong... does that make the film technically a Hong Kong piece even though the Pang's call Thailand home and the production crew and cinematographer were Thai as well?

I dunno... still, the original wasn't even produced in Japan, so my prior post still holds water;)
bluemeanie #3: bluemeanie - added 05/30/2008, 10:14 AM
Actually, you're just as wrong as I am. Hong Kong. Not Japan or Thailand.
bluemeanie #4: bluemeanie - added 05/30/2008, 01:10 PM
And I think what makes this more a Hong Kong film is that most of it was filmed in Hong Kong. Also, the filmmakers were born in Hong Kong, the writers born in Hong Kong and a large majority of the cast born in Hong Kong.
Greg Follender #5: Greg Follender - added 05/30/2008, 03:03 PM
As usual... did you even really read my prior posts, Meanie?

I stated quite clearly that the Pangs were born in Hong Kong and wondered if that made the film technically a Hong Kong production... this implies that the film could also be considered a Hong Kong film, even though the Director's consider themselves part of the Thai film industry.
If I was adamant about my claim that it was strictly a Thai film... why on Earth would I have added that second post?

Only one of us made a mistake, sir... and that was you.
bluemeanie #6: bluemeanie - added 05/30/2008, 04:43 PM
Jesus Christ. Here we go again. You need to get whatever bug is up your ass and squash it. You take offense to a bird flying to close to your car. I never stated I didn't make a mistake. Grow up, man -- Jesus Christ. It's not always about 'who beat who'.
bluemeanie #7: bluemeanie - added 05/30/2008, 04:48 PM
You big stupidhead.
Greg Follender #8: Greg Follender - added 05/31/2008, 12:29 AM
Hah... as usual, instead of simply owning up to your screw-up, you try and lash out at the guy who set you straight!

What a goddamned cry-baby you are, man... you're a reviewer and you got caught with your pants down... quit trying to make me the villain for pointing out your mistake and man-up, for Pete's sake!

After all... you should thank me for trying to keep you from embarrassing yourself with faulty info in your review... doodyface;)

(And that fucking bird gave me the stink-eye, for your information, sir...)
Tristan #9: Tristan - added 05/31/2008, 12:35 AM
I'm the last person in the world to defend Meanie, but when he said "we're both wrong" I don't think he was being malicious at all. In fact, he seemed rather good natured about the whole thing, and was merely shrugging it off. You seem to be the only one making a big deal out of absolutely nothing.
Greg Follender #10: Greg Follender - added 05/31/2008, 02:35 PM
I'm only pointing out that I quite clearly said that the film could either be considered a Thai or Hong Kong production... not a Japanese one as Meanie indicated incorrectly in his review.

My only beef with him is that instead of simply admitting the mistake, he had to try and make me wrong as well... which, in this instance, is completely unfounded.

I'm not making a big deal out of it really, Fecal... just being helpful in my first and second post. He's the one that had to start with the insults... as usual.
I'll admit that I like to play along when he gets all pissy... and for that I'm certainly guilty. Still, we usually degenerate to silly insults and defuse the situation naturally. I'm not trying to bash the guy... just have a bit of fun.

i DO appreciate your comments on this though, sir... and I'll try to broach this sort of thing differently with him next time.
bluemeanie #11: bluemeanie - added 05/31/2008, 03:23 PM
To quote Peter Sarsgaard from one of my favorite films, "Shattered Glass":

"Stop pitching."
Greg Follender #12: Greg Follender - added 05/31/2008, 11:43 PM
To quote Seth Green from a popular 90's comedy, "Austin Powers:The Spy Who Shagged Me":

"Blow me."

PS: I liked "Shattered Glass" too... great flick;)
bluemeanie #13: bluemeanie - added 06/01/2008, 02:41 AM
LOL...to quote the father from "The Yearling"...

"Take the yearling out back...and shoot it..."
Greg Follender #14: Greg Follender - added 06/01/2008, 01:39 PM
Very nice...

To quote Steve Buscemi from "Fargo"...

"Just keep it still back there, lady... or we're going to have to... you know... shoot you."


Rik #15: Rik - added 06/05/2008, 01:25 PM
The original was filmed entirely in Thai. I've seen the original and it kicks ass compared to this crap.

Totally 0/10.
bluemeanie #16: bluemeanie - added 06/05/2008, 04:51 PM
Sorry, but you are incorrect. The film was shot in both Thailand and in Hong Kong. This is not speculation, but fact.
bluemeanie #17: bluemeanie - added 06/05/2008, 04:52 PM
I do not know the extent to which Hong Kong was used...maybe briefly...or maybe in scenes that didn't make the cut. However it was used, there were scenes shot in Hong Kong.
385 #18: 385 - added 06/29/2008, 01:55 AM
Definitely not a 0/10, but it's certainly not much better. I'll second your 'avoid' recommendation.
Mr. Mistoffelees #19: Mr. Mistoffelees - added 07/13/2008, 11:40 PM
Wow, ok that was a pretty long post argument. Anyway, I agree with pretty much anyone who has seen this remake that it is god awful. I laughed at the supposed "scares" because they were so textbook. 2/10.
Greg Follender #20: Greg Follender - added 08/18/2008, 08:02 PM
Yup... the remake is positively awful.
I truly can't understand how the producers of this film actually sat through it and thought that it was a box office winner...

It says a lot...
Sign up to add your comment. Sign up to add your comment.
Layout, reviews and code © 2000-2014 | Privacy Policy | Forum | Song Lyrics