Home
Home

Ichi The Killer (2001)

DVD Cover (Tokyo Shock)
Movie Connections:
Ichi The Killer
> Ichi The Killer (2001)
> 1-Ichi (2003)
Genres:
Crime, Crime Drama
Director:
Takashi Miike Takashi Miike
Starring:
Tadanobu Asano Tadanobu Asano
Nao Ohmori Nao Ohmori
Shin'ya Tsukamoto Shin'ya Tsukamoto
Paulyn Sun Paulyn Sun
Susumu Terajima Susumu Terajima

7.6 / 10 - Overall Rating

* * * * *
Sign up to rate this movie.
Add to Collection
Sign up to add this to your collection
Add to Favorites
Sign up to add this to your favorites
We don't have a synopsis for this movie yet. Check back soon or send us your own!
Avatar
Review by Chad
Added: February 21, 2004
This was quite different that what I was expecting. I didn't really read much about it before purchasing, only watched the trailer and took IIHOKII's advice. I was under the assumption that the blonde was Ichi, which led to some confusion in the beginning. Silly me.

Regardless, this movie is quite amazing. The effects are top-notch, very realistic... no idea on the budgets for this flick, but in terms of how well some of those effects were done, it rivals most American deals. There's also lots of good usage on the camera angles and such, which is always a good thing.

Did I mention gore? Wow, there's lots of it. Lots of it. I've seen a few movies with more simultaneous on-screen blood-n-guts, but none that were quite as realistic. Definite thumbs up on that aspect.

The storyline was very well thought-out, with plenty of twists-n-turns to keep it moving. Some of it had me lost in the beginning, but it all came together in due time. Kakihara was great in his role, and quite the nasty guy with his needles and such. Ichi was a bit of an over-acter, but it kinda goes in with him being nuts, so it all works out in the end... and he was quite the badass when pushed. Definitely nice.

I was going to gripe about the ending... well, the next-to-last scene... but as I'm typing this and rethinking it, it makes more sense how it worked out anyway, so props on not taking the easy way out with it.

Definitely a 10/10, definitely a must-see.
Recommended Movies
Dead Or Alive 2 1-Ichi Fudoh: The New Generation Dead Or Alive Two For The Money
Monster The Dark Knight Dexter: Season 1 Dexter: Season 2 Dexter: Season 4
Dexter: Season 3 Vegasland Inside Man Throat: A Cautionary Tale Road To Perdition
Clarence Bodicker #1: Clarence Bodicker - added 07/30/2004, 02:19 AM
Whoa, I thought this movie was complete trash. Then again, I did see the edited version. Hopefully the seeing the un-edited version makes a big difference.
Chad #2: Chad - added 07/30/2004, 02:22 AM
If you saw the edited version, you must have missed a good twenty minutes worth of scenes that explain the storyline a lot better.
Sho #3: Sho - added 09/29/2004, 01:53 AM
Yea, definitely give the movie another go around. You had to at least get a little kick when Jijii took his shirt off.
Edd #4: Edd - added 08/02/2005, 11:58 AM
My most favorite Japanese movie of all time. I can't wait to see the prequel now.
Ginose #5: Ginose - added 09/07/2005, 02:46 PM
One of the best movies I've ever seen... I should leave it at that. Don't want to ruin the demented ending for you... and when I say demented... I mean it.
Kari Byron's Sex Cyborg #6: Kari Byron's Sex Cyborg - added 09/12/2005, 09:59 PM
My first impression of this much talked about movie is that it's awkwardly gaudy and pretentious. I want to believe that that's not true, so I will give it another chance. When I initially watched it I had the English dubs on (I don't know why I didn't change it) and the whole time I was irritated with them, distracting me from fully enjoying my viewing. But one small thing that I know I definitely didn't care for particularly were the special effects. I did like half of what I saw and was able to get into, but the other half... I don't know. This movie altogether seems right up my alley though. I suppose next time I watch it, my opinion will be a turn around for the better, hopefully.
. #7: . - added 09/13/2005, 08:49 PM
I reccommend this over the anime version. Great film
Tristan #8: Tristan - added 04/05/2006, 12:45 PM
Amazing movie. Utterly amazing.
I had heard about it for awhile, but had never gotten around to looking for it. I downloaded it off of torrents, and was very impressed.
Deadwired2 #9: Deadwired2 - added 05/07/2006, 05:28 PM
This movie is brilliant, incredibly disturbing and ironicly funny at moments.
Kari Byron's Sex Cyborg #10: Kari Byron's Sex Cyborg - added 12/13/2006, 10:36 PM
Heh, ok... I finally got around to watching this again - yep, it does kick ass. I think the hype got to me the first time around, that's all.
grain of sand #11: grain of sand - added 01/05/2007, 04:23 AM
I feel like ichi was definitely overacting sometimes, but it didn't hurt my view on the film whatsoever..

the torture scenes are amazing here, such brutality and creativity.. I LOVE when the brother is challenged on whether or not he can pull someones arms off with his bare hands.

miike is a god.
Ginose #12: Ginose - added 04/12/2007, 06:56 PM
The anime wasn't a prequal to this film, it was a prequal to the manga. the only actual prequal to this movie is "Ichi -1"... I'll admit, it suprised me too.
Sign up to add your comment. Sign up to add your comment.
Layout, reviews and code © 2000-2019 | Privacy Policy
Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Review Updates