Home
Home

Superman / Doomsday (2007)

DVD Cover (Warner Brother Special Edition)
Movie Connections:
DC: Superman
> Superman (1978)
> Grayson (2004)
> Superman Returns (2006)
> Superman / Doomsday (2007)
> Superman/Shazam!: The Return Of... (2010)
> Superman XXX: A Porn Parody (2011)
> Supergirl XXX: An Extreme Comixxx... (2011)
> The Dark Knight XXX: A Porn Parody (2012)
> Superman vs. Spider-Man XXX: An... (2012)
> Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super... (2013)
> Man Of Steel XXX: An Axel Braun... (2013)
> Batman vs. Superman XXX: An Axel... (2015)
> Wonder Woman XXX: An Axel Braun... (2015)
> Supergirl XXX: An Axel Braun Parody (2016)
> Batgirl vs. Supergirl: A XXX Parody (2017)
> ...Show All Connections?
Genres / Traits:
Animated Action, Animated Fantasy, Animated Feature Film, Animation, Superhero Film, DC Comics
Directors:
Lauren Montgomery Lauren Montgomery
Bruce Timm Bruce Timm
Brandon Vietti Brandon Vietti
Starring:
Adam Baldwin Adam Baldwin
Anne Heche Anne Heche
James Marsters James Marsters
John DiMaggio John DiMaggio
Tom Kenny Tom Kenny

6.6 / 10 - Overall Rating

* * * * *
Sign up to rate this movie.
Add to Collection
Sign up to add this to your collection
Add to Favorites
Sign up to add this to your favorites
When LexCorps accidentally unleash a murderous creature, Doomsday, Superman meets his greatest challenge as a champion. Based on the "The Death of Superman" storyline that appeared in DC Comics' publications in the 1990s --TMDb
Avatar
Review by Griffinheart
Added: March 23, 2009
"Superman: Doomsday" takes one of the greatest comic stories ever, changes it, and animates it...and it doesn't suck. Go!

Based on the comic of similar name, "Superman: Doomsday" tells the story of what happens when Superman has to face an adversary just as super as he. Now, his opponent isn't a power-list-clone of Superman like Shazam, his opponent is the unstoppable killing machine Doomsday. It's as strong as Superman and either feels no pain or doesn't care. Doomsday was genetically engineered to be a weapon, but not even its creators could shove it back in its box after it was activated.

When Lex Luthor's men accidentally breach a space ship uncovered deep underground, a hologram appears and says something in an unknown tongue. Lex recognizes it as a warning shortly before Doomsday bursts out of the ship and proceeds to kill everything in its path.

Lex Luthor: "There's only one reason someone would go to all the trouble of trapping that thing down here--they couldn't kill it."

Doomsday reaches Metropolis and proceeds to tear up the place until Superman arrives. Then the property damage escalates exponentially. Both are throwing each other through building upon building, and it's obvious hundreds are being killed each time. But, does Superman slow down or stop to worry about the people being killed? No. Not because he's callous but because he recognizes how serious of a threat Doomsday is. Superman knows that he has to stop Doomsday or die trying.

The Superman vs. Doomsday fight lasts for most of the first half of the movie, if I recall right. The rest of the movie covers the aftermath of the fight, and it is here where the movie starts to drastically differ from the comics. However, I didn't care. The comics are excellent and have their place, but this story is amazing as well. Lex Luthor is the evil bastard he is supposed to be, and he drives the plot like a good villain should. We see the worst of humanity from the villains, and the best from the heroes. No piss ass characters need apply.

In addition to the plot, the movie is good in most other regards as well. The voice actors range from adequate to great (James Marsters as Lex Luthor is excellent). The animation style can be a little minimalistic, but it mirrors some of the other Superman animated shows and didn't bother me at all (though the very, very pointed cheek bones of Luthor struck me as rather bizarre). For about the only low point of the movie, I have to swing back to the plot: the writers, AGAIN, pulled the crap where Superman is sleeping with Lois, but she doesn't know he's really Clark Kent. For the sake of the story, I'm willing to let it slide that most people can't tell that Superman and Clark Kent are the same person, but she's sleeping with him! Come on! And, how much of a dick is Superman being for not telling her!?

Now for the score. I give it a 8.5/10 for the fact that it is great but isn't in the same league as truly epic movies like "The Empire Strikes Back" or "The Matrix". That being said, go watch it. The first time I watched it, I was smiling almost the entire movie with a "This is so fricking awesome" look on my face.
Recommended Movies
Lego Batman: The Movie - DC Super Heroes Unite Superman/Shazam!: The Return Of Black Adam The Lego Batman Movie Batman: Hush Batman: The Killing Joke
Teen Titans Go! To The Movies Batman: Mask Of The Phantasm The Animatrix Ultimate Avengers Hulk Vs.
Ultimate Avengers 2 Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse Hellboy Animated: Blood And Iron Superman Returns The Lego Movie 2: The Second Part
The Red Clover #1: The Red Clover - added 03/23/2009, 04:24 PM
I'd give this an 8 based on animation, however I find myself detracting 7.5 points for the unfortunate fact it's a Superman movie.
Griffinheart #2: Griffinheart - added 03/23/2009, 10:33 PM
I'll assume that you're dropping the score to 7.5 and not by 7.5 points. Really, this does deserve at least an 8.

As for knocking Superman stories in general, I do generally prefer other comic characters as well. Less godlike characters are easier to relate to and easier to write quality stories for (Wow, someone's shooting a gun at Superman...oh, wait, that can't hurt him). Still, when a story is good, it's good, and this was better than the average comic-based feature.
The Red Clover #3: The Red Clover - added 03/24/2009, 04:12 PM
No, I'd give it an 8, but unfortunately I'd lower the score down to a .5 because like I said, it's a Superman movie. But I will say that the story itself combined with the animation does make it a solid 8. The .5 is just a personal score because I personally can not stand the Superman franchise. But my score is not to belittle the decent animation or to begrudge the terrific story nor is it there to detract from your well put review.

With that clarified, I still maintain my subjective score of .5 but still recommend it for anyone who; A) Enjoys a good animated feature based on a comic or, B) You're a Superman fan because while I dislike the franchise, I can't deny how good this feature was.
Griffinheart #4: Griffinheart - added 03/24/2009, 04:29 PM
I understand; there are some characters I just hate as well. I usually find Batman and Wolverine to be off-putting as I think they're given way too much credit and leeway in stories. There are only so many times Wolverine can act like a distant loner before I lose interest.

Batman, on the other hand, usually feels like a plot device more than an actual character. Any time a difficult situation arises, Batman breezes by impossible obstacles with some miraculous plan/device that could only have been constructed/brought due to prior knowledge. Superman has a limited arsenal, but Batman has no limits. I'd rather read about a constrained god than an omnipotent mortal.
Greg Follender #5: Greg Follender - added 03/24/2009, 11:34 PM
I found this to be an absolute snore...

The best parts of the film are contained in only half it's full length... the ending sequence is a predictable rehash of old devices that drain most of the drama from the earlier, more successful proceedings. "Superman/Doomsday"... no where in that title is Luthor mentioned... nor should he be inferred...

Another in a long line of animated features that totally lose sight of what is the real meat of the title story... it takes a dramatic chapter in a hero's life and tacks on a needless bit of writer's self-indulgence that contributes nothing to the mythos.

To be honest,.. at it's heart, the original tale is a shameful cash-in story that lacked both real merit and creativity. Anything to sell extra books...
Shameful...

If DC felt the need to re-tell the tale properly, they should at least have invested time enough to have it end with bit more drama and originality.

Weak and pedestrian.

6/10, and only for above average straight-to-video animation sequences.



Greg Follender #6: Greg Follender - added 03/25/2009, 01:20 PM
If you'd like to see a much better realized animated adaptation of a comic book story, proceed to DC's "New Frontier" feature...

It certainly isn't better than the tremendous source material, but it at least successfully captures the heart of the tale in a way that doesn't disappoint. Epic, relevant, and insightful.. this new vision of the great Silver Age of comics is well conceived and truly does justice to it's noble comic book roots!

Check it out...
Griffinheart #7: Griffinheart - added 03/27/2009, 01:26 AM
Any one ever read the Superman comic called something like "For the Man Who Has Everything"? It was a great story where Batman, Robin, and Wonder Woman visit Superman at his Fortress of Solitude only to find Superman enveloped in a parasitic plant that gave its victims their heart's desire in dream form. The comic was great, and the Justice League cartoon did a fairly good adaption of it.
Greg Follender #8: Greg Follender - added 03/27/2009, 09:21 AM
Yup, seen it.

Actually one of the better Justice League episodes that season, to be sure.
Griffinheart #9: Griffinheart - added 04/11/2009, 01:03 PM
Just saw an episode of Justice League Unlimited with Doomsday in it...it was abysmal. Not only was Doomsday a Superman clone, but Doomsday talked...which completely sucked the cool straight out of him.
The Red Clover #10: The Red Clover - added 04/12/2009, 11:39 PM
I'd have to say "New Frontier" is by far my favorite DC animated film so far.
Greg Follender #11: Greg Follender - added 04/13/2009, 09:39 AM
I commend your excellent taste in animated features, sir...
I, too, found "The New Frontier" to be vastly superior to any other DC produced animated feature to date.

You owe it to yourself to read the source material as well.

It's akin to viewing the recent Watchmen film without actually poring through the graphic novel itself;)
Don't cheat yourself of the full course meal by just shuffling a hot roll or two into your pockets to eat later....


The Red Clover #12: The Red Clover - added 04/14/2009, 05:00 PM
I'll take your recommendation and find the source even though I am not a fan of the majority of the products DC publishes.
Griffinheart #13: Griffinheart - added 05/18/2009, 08:14 PM
Caught another great episode of Justice League Unlimited the other night. It had everything: time travel, super heroes, robots, cowboys, robot cowboys, dinosaurs, robot dinosaurs...everything and a few good quotes too:

Wonder Woman after blocking bullets from a old West Colt pistol: "Those are the biggest, slowest bullets I've ever seen."

Card player #1: "I call--four kings and an ace."
Card player #2: "That's a might bit perplexing seeing as I have four aces and a king. I suppose I win."
Sign up to add your comment. Sign up to add your comment.
Layout, reviews and code © 2000-2019 | Privacy Policy
Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Review Updates