Home
Home Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Review Updates

Hatchet Attacks: Live From Red Rocks (2008)

DVD Cover (Psychopathic Records)
Sign up to rate this movie.
4.2
 / 10
4 votes
Genres:
Concerts, Music, Vocal Music
Starring:
Violent J Violent J
Shaggy 2 Dope Shaggy 2 Dope
Jamie Madrox Jamie Madrox
Monoxide Monoxide
Blaze Ya Dead Homie Blaze Ya Dead Homie
Sponsored Content
Avatar
Review by Crispy
Added: January 22, 2009
After watching Death Racers recently, I've been on quite the psychopathic kick. Now, under no circumstances do I consider myself a juggalo; but the music has always been a guilty pleasure of mine. Anyway, now that my interest had been rekindled, I began reading up on what everyone's favorite clowns had been up to since I stopped paying attention. As luck would have it, one of the releases that I had not heard of was something I had been wanting since I first got into the band in high school. A live DVD. For better or worse, this is not just an Insane Clown Posse concert, but has all the big names of Pyschopathic Records covered. Filmed during the all day event, Hatchet Attacks, the DVD features ICP, Twiztid, Blaze Ya Dead Homie, Boondox, and Axe Murder Boyz.

Axe Murder Boyz
-Red Rum Where I'm From
-Heatseeker
-Old Girl

Opening the show is the returning AMB. Watching the duo, Otis and Bonez Dubb, run through the three songs, it's quite obvious why they were given less than ten minutes of disc time. There's absolutely nothing going on here. The music is generic as hell. Sure, the chorus of Heatseeker is slightly catchy, but not nearly enough for total redemption. Their performance was also lacking. There was no energy, and the subdued crowd seems to agree with me. I can definitely see why they were dumped from the label last time, and why they're only signed to their subsidiary label for their "triumphant" return. 3/10

Boondox
-Country Life
-They Pray With Snakes
-Sippin'
-Seven

Boondox is relatively new to the label, but he's risen pretty fast in a short amount of time. Like AMB, his set is also extremely short. On the other hand, it was damned entertaining and the crowd was with him as soon as he stepped on stage. Now, when the show started, it took me a little while to get into it. Despite being a solo artist, he was joined on stage by a hype man, Cousin Cletus (apparently a common thing). At first I thought it was taking away from his act; however, their energy and the chemistry between the two quickly warmed me up to the idea, and my second viewing went without a hitch. By the time Boondox's set was up, I was fully drawn in and wanted more. Ideally, they should have axed the Murder Boyz and given Boony the extra time. Of course, if he keeps gaining in popularity as fast as he is, chances are he'll have his own DVD before long. 7.5/10

Blaze Ya Dead Homie
-The Crypt Keeper
-The Casket
-Hatchet Luv
-Juggalo Anthem
-Nasty
-2 Many Bitches
-Hood Ratz
-Wishing Well
-Escape Artist

I'll be honest here. I never really liked Blaze. So with the slight possibility of bias, let me say that his act didn't do anything to change my mind about him. Like Boondox, Blaze was joined on stage by a hype man, but the chemistry just wasn't there. It wouldn't surprise me if the guy didn't even like the music; it looked like he was just hired off the streets. All the reasons I never got into Blaze were in full effect here. All his songs sound the same, and he has his own clichés he can't get away from. Most rappers will go on and on about their whips and hoes. Well, Blaze goes on and on about hood rats (hoes) and caskets (his gimmick is a gangsta rapper who was shot in the 80s and then rose from the dead, which is retarded in it's own right, but I digress). In the interest of fairness, I have to say that even though I didn't dig it, I'm sure that his fans will love this. He put on a high energy show and had full control of the crowd. 6.5/10

Twiztid
-Raw Deal
-Drugs, Money & Murder
-Bussyoheadopen
-Hurt Someone
-Welcome Home
-Triple Threat
-Hom Sha Bom
-Weak Shitz Out
-We Don't Die
-So High
-Diemuthafuckadie

Night has fallen, and Twiztid hits the stage. And man, do they own it. Jamie Madrox and Monoxide have been rapping together in some form since 1992, if not earlier and it definitely shows. They play off each other extremely naturally, and the chemistry was almost tangible. This brought a little something extra to the songs. While the typical Twiztid song has each man rapping different verses, here they kept switching off every three or four lines, adding a dynamic flair to their songs that was more than appreciated. Another touch to their show (an aspect I thought the previous acts were desperately missing) was crowd interaction. It wasn't over the top, but it was nice seeing something a little more than just the occasional "let me fucking hear you!" between songs. The featured tracklist was a nice sampling from throughout their career, covering tracks from Mostasteless to Independent's Day. I would go as far as to say that none of the other acts on the DVD matched Twiztid's pure performance skills. They only got thirty minutes on this release; personally, I'd love to see Twiztid get their own DVD with a full concert. 9.5/10

Insane Clown Posse
-Ride the Tempest
-Get Your Wicked On
-The Show Must Go On
-Halls of Illusion
-Cherry Pie
-Toy Box
-Tilt-A-Whirl
-Chicken Huntin'
-Let's Go All the Way
-Night of the 44
-Fuck the World
-Lady in a Jaguar (feat. Boondox)
-Boom Boom Boom (feat. Esham)
-Homies (feat. Twiztid)
-Serial Killa

Psychopathic's founders and flagship duo, in the past fifteen odd years, ICP has gained an almost cult like following. One of the biggest reasons for this is their circus like stage shows featuring clowns, dancing women, and of course, lots of Faygo. Their setlist also takes songs old and new, but the old ones just don't shine as bright as the new. The problem lies in the fact that ICP just doesn't play the music in the background, they play the actual song, vocals and all. Violent J specifically just doesn't pull up the same "insanely gleeful" tone that he used when the song was recorded, and actually hearing it in the background why he's half-assing it is horrible. Even though the vocals are left wanting, they make up for it with extra curricular shenanigans. Close to 200 liters of Faygo are sprayed, launched and punted into the crowd, and the duo is often joined on stage by killer clowns waving flags or scantily clad women dancing in Faygo showers. Unlike Twiztid and Boondox, I wasn't left yearning for a longer set, but this really captured the typical ICP show. What more could you ask for? 8/10

A pretty nice collection there, rounding out to just over two hours of concert footage. Even with the relatively long running time for a concert, it watches extremely easy. I mostly listen to metal, so the rap act took some getting used to, but I doubt most people will have that problem. Aside from the complaints I had with the opening acts, I only had a few minor gripes. First off, the editing. Occasionally, the camera would start zooming in and out in quick succession. I'm not sure how they thought this bouncing effect would be successful, the only thing it did was make things impossible to see and make me nauseous. Fortunately, they only did that sparingly, so it's easily overlooked. Also, a lot of the songs were caught off prematurely. I'm not sure if they actually cut the songs while on stage, or they were just cut on the DVD for time constraints. Most of the artists only suffered the chop job on one or two tracks, but Blaze seemed to have quite a few songs hit. Again, not a major problem, but it was an annoyance. At the end of the day, the Insane Clown Posse and Twiztid segments alone are worth the price of purchase for fans, and Boondox was also a great addition. Plus there's an added Dark Lotus song hidden on the DVD. A great pick up for juggalos and casual fans alike. 8/10.
Movie Stills - View all?
Stills
Stills
Stills
Recommended Movies
Mindless Self Indulgence: Our Pain, Your Gain Megadeth: Rude Awakening Slipknot: Disasterpieces Korn: Live Gitane Demone: Life After Death Iron Maiden: Rock In Rio Iron Maiden: Flight 666 Alice In Chains: MTV Unplugged Megadeth: Countdown To Extinction - Live Foreigner: Live On Stage Tom Petty - Dogs On The Run: A Musical Documentary Zoot Sims: In A Sentimental Mood Divinyls - Live: Jailhouse Rock Chet Baker: Candy
Optimus Prime #1: Optimus Prime - added 01/23/2009, 01:43 AM
Ugh... ICP.
Shakes #2: Shakes - added 01/23/2009, 06:28 AM
lOl...wow. these are THE ultimate, most fucking retarded bands ever... in the UNIVERSE... 8/10???? don't embarrass yourself, dude..
Shakes #3: Shakes - added 01/23/2009, 06:30 AM
"juggalos"...haha..god you're an idiot
Crispy #4: Crispy - added 01/23/2009, 10:09 AM
Ha ha, nice to see you like to talk without a clue.
Edd #5: Edd - added 01/23/2009, 08:33 PM
That whole conversation was pretty funny.
grain of sand #6: grain of sand - added 02/06/2009, 08:35 PM
Is that a Demon Hunter avatar? Dude with a christian metal band avatar reviews ICP dvd? Where am I?
Crispy #7: Crispy - added 02/06/2009, 08:42 PM
Haha, my musical taste is all over the fucking place. Hitting Shuffle on Itunes is always an interesting thing.
Sign up to add your comment. Sign up to add your comment.
Layout, reviews and code © 2000-2017 | Privacy Policy | Forum | Song Lyrics